5 Questions That Will Help You Not Waste Your Life (My 101st POST)

3882117-numbered-steps-in-a-sports-stadium-in-between-the-green-pastic-seatingYup, I finally got around to posting again (confession time will come soon….oooooh boy). NUMBER 101! Woohoo!

So, I’m a Christian. Whether you are or not, there’s truth in this message I heard yesterday. It talked through 5 questions you can ask yourself to help you determine what you should be doing with your life. It was extremely motivating to me, and helped me answer some lingering questions about: 1. Why I do some of the dumb things I do that cause me to fail, and 2. what my next few steps in life could be.

Here’s the link to the message http://newspring.cc/series/dont-waste-your-life/five-questions-that-will-help-me-not-waste-my-life/.

Here are the 5 Questions-

1. What do I enjoy?

What would I do for free? What do I do in my free time? What do you dream about?

2. What do I do well?

No one has to tell LeBron James he’s good at basketball. Give him a ball and you’ll find out what his gift is. What are you good at? If you say nothing, you’re lying, or you need to ask someone who knows you.

3. What bothers me?

“Where your misery is, you’ll find your ministry”. What do you see in the world that you wish you could help with? What need is there that you wish you could meet? Who do you wish you could help? Why?

4. What opportunties do I have right now?

What can you do today? Is there a baby step you can take? Is there a class you can take, a place you can volunteer, a person you can reach out to? What’s the NEXT RIGHT STEP?

5. Who?

Who will you serve? It has to be bigger than you. Being motivated by personal gain or happiness lasts a while, but it won’t motivate you completely and won’t satisfy you in the end. Find a way to change the world, even if it only changes the world for one person. Serve people. Serve God. Life is bigger than our own vain pursuits.

What is your next step? Can you answer these questions?

I’d love to hear from you- what are you working on?  Comment here on the blog, or on Twitter: @loserjosh.

Leave a comment